Defense Wins Championships (Need Help)

Ok, some of you may remember me from when i first posted on the site and some of you may not, anyways, ever since i bought DoA i've been trying to learn at the fastest pace i can to try to catch up seeing as how im new to the whole DoA series. (but not fighting games)

So my question is aimed at you veterans out there, i've been trying to figure it out for myself since day 1, but i havent really gotten far at all...I want to learn how to play defense effectively. It seems like everytime i try to block and punish with one of my faster attacks or a grab (i use Fang by the way) i just get hit first into another combo or stun game and its frustrating. Im here from streetfighter so i understand for the most part that im not supposed to just throw out unsafe moves over and over again,so i do strings that are relatively safe on block -7 or less and if its blocked,then i block,or do a high crush if i think they are going high,but once again,when i give them the chance to start attacking me all hell breaks loose and i end up getting hit low,which makes me panic and try to do a jab afterwards,or i try to duck their next attack (and get away from the grab) and i end up getting demolished by some mids..

I do understand that it takes alot of time to get better, but i was just wondering if there was anything that im missing that can help me become better at that aspect of my game? The way i play this game is to learn and understand why things are happening to me, so im not the type of person to just slam on random counters over and over again until something works, but it seems like that works against me because i lose ALOT against people that i dont feel should be beating me.

Anyways the wall of text is over, any input or suggestions to help me would be greatly appreciated,thanks guys!

-AK

NukNuks

Learn how to Slow/stagger escape during the right stun and that will improve your defense.